Mapping my run.

14 07 2012

The weather has been beautiful lately, and this means more outdoor activities in this young, health conscious city that I live in. Anything from beach volleyball to paddle boating, to kayaking and ultimate frisbee, you name it, I see them all as I run down my usual route.

Typically, I enjoy running outside but most of the time I’m running blindly without keeping track of my progress. The only thing I know about it is that I run the same distance, but what that distance is, or for how long I run, I honestly have no idea. That is, until few days ago when my friend introduced me to this super cool website, mapmyrun.com

Basically, it’s every runner’s best friend. You can map your route, keep track of how you do over time, and log your food! My favourite part is obviously the mapping my route part because I don’t run on a standard track, or in a straight line, so it’s not like I can use Google map to calculate the distance. Through this website, I have figured out that my usual route is just under 7km with inclination of about 2.5m! Now if only I can remember to time myself, then I can seriously start seeing progress..

The website is not just for serious runners either (because clearly I’m not!), you can also keep track of anything from shopping route to dog walking route, hell, even the short walk from your dorm room to your class! It just helps you feel like you are accomplishing something when you see it in numbers, instead of “oh ya, I went for a 10 mins walk”. Happy Running everyone!

What is the secret to your work out? Do share!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

