Today’s Look 2.012

31 05 2012

It’s that time of the year again when the city is flooded with gifts and goodies, when people’s profile pictures are of them wearing caps and gowns, when flower shops start making almost as much money as on Valentines. Yes ladies and gentleman, another class is graduating.

For me it’s a little bit of a bitter sweet moment, because it’s kind of a reminder of where you once were, merely x years ago. It’s a good reminiscing moment to see how far you’ve come since you yourself threw your cap in the air and thought that you are about to make your mark in this world. How many years has it been for you, and how far do you think you have come since?

Yesterday I had the privilege of attending one of the ceremonies at my Alma Mater and it was a little odd. As the speakers try to inspire you and motivate you, gushing over how you are in good companies and how the school has prepared you well, part of me was so touched to be back there again and reminisce of old time, but part of me also wanted to shake them and tell them not to give the graduates some unrealistic expectations. Don’t get me wrong new graduates, you can be great, you can make your marks, but at the same time, it really is what you make of it.

Now, enough about the dark and gloomy thoughts, this is a fashion post! I thought I would share with you what I decided to wear on this joyous occasion.   Remember that if you are the guest, don’t try to overshine the star!

Today's Look 2.012

As blue and gold are our school colours, I tried to show my loyalty to school this way! My navy blue dress was 3/4 sleeves with slits. Unlike the one shown here though, my “slit” wasn’t one big one, but looked more like a ladder with several smaller key holes, if you know what I mean. I paired it with simple black sandal heels, and my Burberry trench because it was kind of gloomy and cold.
.
I kept my accessories simple with gold chain pendant and gold bangles. The only pops of playful colour were my mint green nails and blue green shadows. My dear friend who graduated was wearing a flowy sleeveless dress that was long at the back, but shorter in the front which was to die for! I really think she was the best dressed there and I am not being biased!
Something like this.. but she had a huge belt for a more flattering silhouette. If you are lost as to what to wear to weddings/grads/other semi formal occasion this summer, hopefully this will inspire you!
 .
Again, congratulations class of 2012, and I wish you nothing but the best. Just don’t take my job away :D
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

