Risotto with Olé Caliente.

26 03 2012

I haven’t been sleeping well lately so I was hoping to sleep in a little on Saturday morning, since no one has to get up early to go to work. Anyone wants to guess what time I woke up on Saturday? 8. Anyone wants to guess why? “Can we make risotto today?” said my boyfriend as he hugged me from behind.

Now, since I’m such a light, picky sleeper, I’m usually very unhappy when I get woken up. However if I were to get woken up this early on a Saturday morning, this was the way. I mean seriously, how cute is that?

This was my first time making risotto, and I used the Bacon and Corn Risotto recipe by Deanna’s Daughter, which turned out amazing. I might even go as far as calling it the best risotto I’ve ever had. I did make some changes from the recipe though since we didn’t have white wine, but I saw on other sites that I can substitute it with a mixture of water and lemon juice, which is what I did. I also omitted carrots just because I was running out of time and chopping it would have slowed down the whole thing. The recipe said no salt needed, but I kept tasting it and I felt like it could use some seasoning, so I have added in a generous amount of salt, pepper and consomme. And instead of the usual arborio rice, we used short grain brown rice which came out great. It was a lot of work though, with constant stirring on the super hot stove for a very long time. It definitely won’t be something I would make regularly.

As for the fish, I tried the garlic butter shrimp take on Tilapia, a recipe from here. It wasn’t bad, but I probably wouldn’t be making it again. Though I cannot tell you enough how proud I am of the risotto. Yum.

For dessert, I tried to make key lime pie, which is my boyfriend’s sister’s favourite dessert. Now, I have never tried it before so I had no idea what to expect, but I used the award winning recipe from here, though with the moderation other reviewers gave in the review section.

Post-baking (this picture is pre-baking), it looked more like a cheesecake, but I think it came out okay. Like  I said, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but both my boyfriend and his sister had two slices each which is good? While I won’t be repeating this recipe, I could definitely use some right now.  A little too acidic for my liking though.

And this is my nail colour for the week, Olé Caliente from Essie (along with the super cute pug sticker I have on my laptop). This is actually what it looks like after only one coat, after me slaving away in the kitchen cooking and cleaning up. I’m pretty impressed, even though colour wise, I was hoping something a little more hint of pink and orange.

Have a wonderful week!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

