Endless Battle: Shoes vs. Women.

13 01 2012

It’s kind of a love-hate relationship. I don’t think I can ever live without my heels. Well, maybe I can, if I live like a hermit with no social life or respectful career. But if I look at my collection of all types of shoes, the only pair that I can wear all day and be completely painless is my pair of Reebok running shoes. That is actually crazy, considering how much money I spend on these. Is it really impossible to find a pair of shoes (ok fine, heels) that can last me all night?

But my war with them starts even before I wear them out all night! I have quite the small feet, and it hasn’t really been working out in my favour when I go shopping for shoes. More often than not, whatever I pick out comes in every size but mine. Or perhaps they just don’t make my size at all… I will have a better luck shopping at the kids’ section, and that way, I can save a lot of money too!

So here are some tips for those with similar problem as mine, which I am sure many of you have! If your shoes are slightly too big, rely on in soles.

I got mine from the shoe store when they didn’t have the half size I was hoping for. They come in all the sizes of the shoes, so they would fit perfectly on the soles of your shoes! Not only do they make your shoes feel smaller (because these babies take up the excess space within your shoes), they also make it a lot more comfortable because of the material. Added bonus is that you don’t need to get a pair of in soles for every pair of shoes that are too big for you, they are easily transferable. One negative thing about this though, is that you don’t get to show off the brand of your shoes haha.

Another thing I have only recently tried is the heel liners:

As shown in the pictures you just have to stick them on to the back of your shoes. The great thing about these is that you will no longer have to suffer the pain caused by the back of your shoes, because these material are super comfortable. Another benefit that these heel liners can give you that in soles can’t is that you can use more than one of these, if your shoes are too big. I remember one time I tried to put two in soles in to one heel (so that’s two pairs of in soles per one pair of shoes), just so I can fit in to a pair of heels that were two sizes too big. Needless to say, that did not work because the two combined in soles were too thick, that the heels ended up being too shallow to accommodate my foot at all, if you know what I mean. But with heel liners, because they go on the back of your shoes, you can stick three of them on there if you need to. I think. The kinds I got were made out of clear squishy material, and they feel nice on my bare skin, and the edges are somewhat rounder, so no sharp edges will be rubbing on your foot. In terms of comfort though, in soles are definitely better, and these aren’t transferable at all.

With sandals or peep-toe shoes however, I don’t feel too comfortable using in soles because I don’t want the whole world to see it, yet heel liners wouldn’t work either because with many sandals, some pairs don’t have the back of the shoes at all, or have something strappy. In these cases, I find that gel pads can can usually solve the problem.

They go on the base of your shoes (where the ball of your foot touches the shoes) and are non-slip, so your feet don’t just slide down your sandals, which is usually what happens when you wear sandals or peep-toe shoes that are too big for you. They are also much kinder to your feet than the bare soles of your shoes too.

Now on the other hand, if you happen to purchase a pair of shoes that are slightly too small for you, because the sales person that “you just need to break it in a little, they’ll stretch”, but it is oh too painful to just break it in a little, apparently the solution is freezing it.

To stretch it, all you have to do is shove something bigger in the shoes, right? And if your feet cannot handle that much pain, just fill a giant Ziploc bag with water, put this in your heels, making sure that this water in a bag fills the entire shoes, and freeze it overnight.  When water freezes, it expands, and voila, your shoes are stretched! I also heard that applying vaseline on parts where the shoe touches your foor also helps, but I have never tried that. But then again, I have never tried freezing my shoes either, but do let me know if any of you have tried it!

Now, that is a lot of writing… Hope you and your heels live happily ever after! We can never have too many heels, remember that. And while we’re on this topic, these are some of the pairs that I have been eyeing lately!

I guess my animalistic phase is here?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

