Go-To-Recipe.

29 11 2011

Not being able to enjoy food for the past few days, i’m starting to go through some withdrawal. Granted, I’ve lost a bit of weight (to come back right up as soon as I go back to my usual diet), but I really really miss good food! So I thought I would share one of my go-to recipes..the amazing spare ribs.

My mother makes amazing ribs, and all she does is marinate them in salt, pepper and garlic. I don’t know how she does it, but it comes out magical. I on the other hand, have to rely on a bit more of flavour provoking ingredients, but I promise you that this is one recipe worth trying. Doesn’t require a lot of ingredients, or skills, for that matter.

What you need:

700 g of ribs (enough for 2~3 people)
3 tbsp of soy sauce
3 tbsp of sugar
2 tbsp of ketchup
1 tbsp of cooking wine
1 tbsp of worcester sauce
4 tsp of minced garlic
1 tsp of minced ginger
salt and pepper

Now, garlic and ginger can easily be substituted with garlic and ginger powder, if you don’t want to buy a whole bunch of fresh ones if you’re just going to use a few teaspoons of each (if you use powder, you won’t have to use them up in just a few days). If you, like me, had to steal some ketchup from local McDonald’s and didn’t get enough, you can mix up a bit of brown sugar with a splash of soy sauce.Worcester sauce can also be substituted with a good balance of soy sauce and vinegar. If you end up substituting more than one thing on this recipe, I don’t guarantee how they will turn out though he he.

First, stab your ribs a few times with a fork.Season them with plenty of salt and pepper.

Prepare two layers of plastic bag (I use two large size ziploc bag), place the salted and peppered ribs in it.

Add the rest of the ingredients in to the bag, and mix them together, well with the ribs.

Once all the ingredients are mixed as one, leave the whole bag in the refrigerator. Of course, if you don’t have time, it will still taste plenty good cooked then, but the longer you marinate them, the more flavourful the ribs will be. I usually marinate them for about 3 hours.

I have tried grilling them, but it came out a little dry, so I prefer pan frying them. Make sure you don’t undercook it, or burn it.

Enjoy!

The leftover sauce at the bottom of the bag would add some really juiciness to the ribs if you cook them together. In this picture, I actually split the sauce up, to use with the ribs and to season my stir fried carrots and mushroom. They turn out great both ways. I actually can’t wait to make these again!

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 11 2011
IamSimplyTia

Looks delicious. What are your sides?

30 11 2011
thewednesdayblues

Thank you! You should try it, it’s such a great and easy recipe! For the sides, I sauteed carrots and mushrooms with the left-over sauce actually! And Mac and cheese haha, also a great recipe!

Leave a Reply

