Smokey Goodness.

22 11 2011

I was introduced to this amazing existence when I was in San Francisco. Who knew there was such a thing?? I mean, caramel+ ice cream is not at all uncommon, but this was truly magical: salted caramel ice cream.

It’s no secret, I am a legitimate sweet tooth, but I am a little picky about the sweetness of my confectioneries. For example, I love chocolate (really, who doesn’t), but I only eat dark chocolate because everything else is just too sweet, unless they are used as an ingredient in a dessert (like white chocolate cheesecake, those, I devour). So I knew caramel ice cream was loved by many, but I wasn’t one of them, because it was slightly sickeningly sweet to me. But salted caramel ice cream just had the right amount of sweetness, a bit of saltiness, and that smoky-burnt-sugar goodness that all worked together in a delicious combination that wasn’t even fair! I am so going back there.

Another interesting ice cream flavours I came across that had a memorable it-factor was this:

Okay, I figured that could be just about anything.. but it’s toasted marshmallow flavour! Again, marshmallow + ice cream is nothing new, but this is marshmallow (toasted) flavoured ice cream!! They are not too sweet, and has that smokey goodness to it, just deliciousss! I have also seen toasted marshmallow milkshake on food network, and I definitely have to give that a try sometime in this life. Lucky for us, you can actually make any of these in the comfort of your home, thanks to the internet. Check them out if you’re interested, and do let me know how they turn out, or better yet, invite me over for a scoop or two!

Actions

Information

One response

29 05 2012
Salted Hazelnut Gelato. « The Wednesday Blues.

[…] once wrote a post on two of the world’s most amazing ice cream flavours here, and I am proud to say that I have found one more to join the club. If you have never tried these […]

Leave a Reply

